NEW Long-term Immersive Spanish course! Learn more

Testimonials

We're proud to have helped hundreds of students with their Spanish studies and life in Barcelona, here is what they have to say

Female student smiling

We want you to be our next success story

It’s our students’ successes that motivate the team here at Speakeasy and we’re happy to share with you some recent reviews of our school and our Spanish languages courses.

Still need convincing?

No problem! Here are some more happy Speakeasy students talking about their time living and learning with us here in Barcelona.

  • Olya K Speakeasy, August 2022

    It is my fourth week with the program, and I plan to stay for 8-10 more weeks. The quality of the teachers is very high, I’ve been impressed with their abilities to explain words and concepts in Spanish to those who are learning without utilizing another language such as English or a dictionary. It’s a truly immersive experience, which helps one progress quite rapidly. In addition, they take the weekly social activities seriously, so that we can enjoy and get to know other students and the city. Each week they prepare several activities for students and alumni at no or very low cost (ie 5€). Lastly, customer service is excellent. They worked with me and around my specific situation and problem(s), came up with creative solutions, were accommodating, etc. I would give a 6 star rating if I could! Above these very practical things, this place is so much fun!

  • Rob Long Speakeasy, March 2021

    Speakeasy is an extraordinary language learning school. I am in my third month and all I have received is consistent energy, passion and commitment from my teachers to help me succeed at Spanish language learning. I would call out Profesora Ana Eva who has a style so inclusive and so committed to every person in the class, I am making progress with Ana and so is everybody else in my group. There is first class communication from the Admin team who keep me updated regularly. A learning experience I will never forget and the most important thing – I’m not forgetting the skill of a new language, because Speakeasy is helping me succeed.

  • Philip Opaola Speakeasy, February 2022

    I’ve been a student at speakeasy for a month and a half now and it’s been going even better than I could’ve expected. We started learning practical Spanish from day 1 and by the end of the first week I was already able to have basic conversations with cashiers, friends, and people I met while out and about. There’s no better motivation than being able to use the words and phrases you learn in class to immediately connect with people. Of course the quality of learning also stems from the quality of teaching, and I can’t speak highly enough of my professor at the school Cristina Revenga. In addition to a varied pedagogical approach (which keeps the whole class engaged for 4 hours at a time) and an endless amount of enthusiasm for the subject, she’s also a great source of knowledge about Spanish culture. She’s constantly recommending songs, books, food, festivals and other ways to engage with the language and culture outside of class. My classmates also bring a diverse range of backgrounds to the classroom. It’s great learning about Camino de Santiago with an architect in class who can talk about the history of Romanesque architecture in Spain, or learning about linguistic similarities between Spanish and Swedish, Dutch or German from students from those countries. Basically if you’re interested in learning Spanish and are curious about taking an immersive approach, you can’t go wrong with this academy.

  • Preston Bottomy Speakeasy, May 2022

    Speakeasy is a fabulous choice for learning Spanish in Barcelona – highly recommend. I’ve been living in Barcelona for a year (intermediate level) and started taking classes to improve my comfort with speaking. I’ve been really impressed with the quality of instruction and it shows in my rapid improvement since starting just one month ago. The school also organizes fun social and cultural outings, which is a great way to meet people in the city. I’m excited to continue my studies with Speakeasy!

  • Lauren Chapman Speakeasy, March 2021

    I started this program in November of 2020 and have been enrolled for 16 weeks. The amount I’ve progressed is tremendous. One of the main reasons I’ve advanced so far in my ability to speak, listen and write is due to the phenomenal teachers at this school. I had 4 different teachers with their own unique styles. I can say that every single one was amazing and pushed me to get to the point where I am now. Thanks to Olga, Marta, Verónica and Joan, I can now confidently say I speak Spanish and navigate myself through Spain without so much fear of having to communicate. I have met many students from other language schools who switched to Speakeasy and all of them have told me this school is the best Spanish learning school they’ve gone to due to the amazing professors. I highly recommend you take classes here!

  • Tami Shaham Speakeasy, April 2022

    I spent two wonderful weeks at Speakeasy Spanish school in Barcelona. Why only two weeks? Because that was all the free time I had. I wish I had more. I sincerely recommend Speakeasy to anyone interested in speaking Spanish. The office staff was so helpful and kind. Cristina and Veronica, the best and most professional teachers, introduced us to the language in an easy and fun way, the most. And the best thing, I had the chance to meet wonderful multi nationalities friends who studied with me in class A1. Speakeasy is not just a Spanish school. Sophie, the activities coordinator and Student advisor was always there for any questions. She organized afternoon activities for us to have fun after school and, more important (in my opinion), to meet and socialize with the other students. Thank you, Speakeasy team. I hope to meet again and continue my Spanish educatio

  • El G Speakeasy, June 2022

    I have only wonderful things to say about my experience at Speakeasy! From day one, Kenny at the administration office answered all my questions and made me feel at ease. The school location is fantastic, walking distance to many major attractions. The facilities at the school are comfortable and cosy. The activities coordinator Sophie is lovely and organised some great weekend day trips. But most importantly, my teachers Marc and Ana Cristina were fantastic. I enjoyed the diversity of their teaching methods, their ability to adapt to everyone’s learning speed and simply, the fun we had in each class. I genuinely learned more Spanish than I expected to!! I will recommend this school to anyone!

  • Snezhanna Niyazgulova Speakeasy, November 2020

    This is a very good school. Teachers are nice and intelligent people. At the same time, the lessons are fun. I have been studying here for 7 months and continue to study, my level of Spanish has increased very much. Previously, I could hardly say a few words, but now I understand and can communicate with Spanish people. I strongly recommend this school.

  • Anya Grak Speakeasy, February 2020

    For me, Speakeasy was the ideal choice not only to learn and improve my Spanish but also to prepare and to pass the DELE B2 exam. I think it’s definitely one of the best Spanish schools in Barcelona with the best value for money. I was very content with my teacher’s level of professionalism. The DELE Preparation course helped me enormously to understand what the different parts of the exam consist of and the criteria for each one. During the classes, we had a lot of tests which helped me to get accustomed to the time limits of each exam’s phase and in turn to pass the exam with a great level of confidence. I also really appreciated the reduced number of students per course which I think certainly facilitates the learning process. I highly recommend Speakeasy due to its excellent student treatment, good prices, interesting intensive courses, and most importantly – the excellent teachers!

  • Deniz Dönmez Speakeasy, February 2020

    I passed the B2 level DELE exam thanks to Speakeasy’s intensive DELE preparation course. We had very intensive and interactive classes in just 4 weeks. It all went well, systematically. We did many examples and cases from the exams. On top of this, it was fun. I am happy to have gotten to know my teachers, Ana and Marta. Thank you for everything!

  • Sophia Snezhynska Speakeasy, March 2021

    It’s a great experience, a chance to meet many interesting people, see new places and speak a new language. I like the way things are arranged at the school. The teachers are very professional. You start speaking Spanish very quickly. It seems that you just chat with friends, and then you notice that you understand people around you, you speak Spanish! It’s cool.

  • Phil Opaola Speakeasy, February 2022

    I’ve been a student at speakeasy for a month and a half now, and it’s been going even better than I could’ve expected. We started learning practical Spanish from day 1 and by the end of the first week I was already able to have basic conversations with cashiers, friends, and people I met while out and about. There’s no better motivation than being able to use the words and phrases you learn in class to immediately connect with people. Of course the quality of learning also stems from the quality of teaching, and I can’t speak highly enough of my professor at the school, Cristina Revenga. In addition to a varied pedagogical approach (which keeps the whole class engaged for 4 hours at a time) and an endless amount of enthusiasm for the subject, she’s also a great source of knowledge about Spanish culture. She’s constantly recommending songs, books, food, festivals and other ways to engage with the language and culture outside of class. My classmates also bring a diverse range of backgrounds to the classroom. It’s great learning about Camino de Santiago with an architect in class who can talk about the history of Romanesque architecture in Spain, or learning about linguistic similarities between Spanish and Swedish, Dutch or German from students from those countries. Basically, if you’re interested in learning Spanish and are curious about taking an immersive approach, you can’t go wrong with this academy.